The University of Nebraska Medical Center Alumni Association announced recipients of its annual awards during its reunion weekend, Oct. 11-12, where more than 400 alumni and guests attended events in Omaha. Alumni represented class years spanning 1954 to the class of 2023.

Awards were presented by alumni councils representing the Colleges of Medicine, Dentistry, Nursing, Pharmacy and the Graduate Studies Program.

2019 alumni award recipients and where they reside are as follows. Biographical information on each individual can be found at, then click on “Councils,” then the below specific college or program and “Award Recipients.”

College of Medicine Alumni

Peter Whitted, M.D. '79, of Omaha, Distinguished Alumnus Award;

Kelly Caverzagie, M.D. '01, of Omaha, Dedication to Student Excellence Award; and

Sheritta Strong, M.D. '04, of Omaha, Early Career Achievement Award.

College of Nursing Alumni

Lynne Buchanan, Ph.D., of Elkhorn, '79, '83, '99, Distinguished Alumnus Award;

Michelle Young, of Hershey, '09, '13; Nursing Excellence Award; and

LaDonna Tworek, of Bellevue, Honorary Alumnus Award.

College of Pharmacy Alumni

Gary Stroy '67, of Los Gatos, Calif., Distinguished Alumnus Award (presented during May 2019 Convocation)

Graduate Studies Program Alumni

Gary Sieck, Ph.D. of Rochester, Minn., '76, Distinguished Alumnus Award;

Christine Cutucache, Ph.D., of Bellevue, '12, Early Career Achievement Award; and

David Crouse, Ph.D., of Omaha, Honorary Alumnus Award.

College of Dentistry

Charles (Fritz) Craft, D.D.S., of Roca, '80, Distinguished Service Award;

Eugene Keller, D.D.S., of Rochester, Minn., '65, Alumni Achievement Award;

Jennifer Kallio, D.D.S., of Lincoln, Honorary Life Membership; and

Henry St. Germain, Jr., of Lincoln, D.M.D., Outstanding Educator Award.