Iowa Secretary of Agriculture Mike Naig today announced several employees who will serve in leadership positions at the Iowa Department of Agriculture and Land Stewardship. The announcement comes as Naig takes the oath of office as the 15th Iowa Secretary of Agriculture this week.

“I am confident in the team that I have begun to assemble at the Department,” said Naig. “These individuals will put their passion and expertise to work to help move Iowa agriculture forward. Our team is focused on advancing the mission of the Department and ensuring that serving Iowans' is at the forefront of our work every day.”

Below is a list of Department leaders:

Julie Kenney, Deputy Secretary. Kenney joined the Department in March 2018 and oversees budget, policy and personnel. Prior to joining the Department, Kenney had been active in the agribusiness industry. She and her family farm in Story County.

Steve Moline, Division Director, Consumer Protection and Industry Services; Food Safety and Animal Health. Moline joined the Department in 2011. Prior to that, he was an Assistant Attorney General in the Environmental and Agriculture Law Division of the Iowa Attorney General’s office.

Bernardo Granwehr, Division Director, Administration. Granwehr joined the Department in January 2019. He provides legal counsel, manages information technology, and oversees facilities and the administrative rule making process. Prior to joining the Department, Granwehr served for 14 years as Chief of Staff and Legal Counsel to State Auditors David Vaut and Mary Mosiman.

Susan Kozak, Acting Division Director, Soil Conservation and Water Quality. Kozak also serves as Mines and Minerals Bureau Chief.

Communications Director – to be announced

Maison Bleam, Federal Liaison and Policy Advisor

Jake Swanson, Legislative Liaison

Lexi Marek, Executive Assistant to Secretary Naig

Dr. Jeff Kaisand, Acting State Veterinarian. Dr. Kaisand also serves as Assistant State Veterinarian.

Dr. Justin Glisan, State Climatologist

Robin Pruisner, State Entomologist

Paul Ovrom, State Horticulturist


A complete staff listing can be found at the Department's website and can be accessed by clicking here.